2017 ORS 9.990¹
Penalties

(1) Any person who violates ORS 9.160 (Bar membership required to practice law) shall be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed six months, or both.

(2) Any person who violates any of the provisions of ORS 9.500 (Solicitation of personal injury business by nonlawyer) or 9.520 (Acceptance and prosecution of solicited claims) commits a Class A violation.

(3) Any person violating any of the provisions of ORS 9.505 (Payment for referring claims resulting from personal injury or death) shall, upon conviction, be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned in the county jail for a period not to exceed one year, or both. [Subsection (3) enacted as 1961 c.561 §4; 1999 c.1051 §143]

_______________

Notes of Decisions

Notwithstanding that crim­i­nal penalty is also provided, en­force­­ment of this sec­tion by issuance of injunc­tion by court of equity was appropriate remedy where nonlawyer was engaged in open, persistent, continuous and admitted viola­tion of ORS 9.160 (Bar membership required to practice law). Oregon State Bar v. Wright, 280 Or 693, 573 P2d 283 (1977)

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 9—Attorneys; Law Libraries, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors009.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2017, Chapter 9, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano009.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.