2017 ORS 825.450¹
Weight receipt
  • fee
  • period of validity
  • rules

Caution-flag-2-25x25
This section is amended
Effective June 2, 2018
Relating to transportation; creating new provisions; amending ORS 184.620, 184.661, 184.751, 184.758, 184.761, 184.766, 316.189, 320.400, 320.405, 320.415, 320.445, 320.455, 320.490, 320.550, 366.155, 366.483, 366.772, 367.095, 377.725, 377.756, 801.041, 801.042, 803.445, 805.045, 805.205, 811.215, 811.485, 818.225, 818.270, 825.450 and 825.480 and section 2, chapter 823, Oregon Laws 2009, section 18, chapter 30, Oregon Laws 2010, and sections 45, 71d, 85, 122r, 139, 149 and 150, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017; repealing section 2, chapter 646, Oregon Laws 2017, and sections 56, 59 and 119, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017; and prescribing an effective date.

(1) Except as otherwise permitted under ORS 825.470 (Temporary pass), the Department of Transportation shall issue a receipt stating the combined weight of each self-propelled or motor-driven vehicle and any train or combination of vehicles to be used with the self-propelled or motor-driven vehicle.

(2) A person may not load any motor vehicle in excess of its combined weight permit rating determined under subsection (1) of this section except as variations may necessarily result in passenger loading. The following fee shall be paid to the department for each weight receipt issued:

(a) For the period beginning on January 1, 2018, and ending on December 31, 2019, $8.50.

(b) For the period beginning on January 1, 2020, and ending on December 31, 2021, $9.

(c) For the period beginning on January 1, 2022, and ending on December 31, 2023, $9.50.

(3) Receipts issued under this section are valid from the first day of any calendar quarter to the last day of the fourth consecutive calendar quarter. Each carrier may select the calendar quarter in which the period will begin except that, if necessary for administrative convenience, the department may require a carrier to adopt a starting date chosen by the department.

(4) All vehicles operating under the carrier’s authority shall have the same four-quarter period of receipt validity. The department may allow a carrier to operate with expired receipts for up to one extra quarter if the renewal application has been submitted and the required fees have been paid on or before the last day of the period of validity of the receipt. The extension of time allowed by this subsection shall be granted only if the department determines that the extension is necessary for the administrative convenience of the department.

(5) The department may adopt rules necessary to administer the provisions of this section. [Formerly 767.775; 2001 c.567 §1; 2003 c.618 §50; 2007 c.465 §1; 2017 c.750 §57]

Note: The amendments to 825.450 (Weight receipt) by section 58, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, become operative January 1, 2024, and apply to fees imposed on or after January 1, 2024. See sections 59 and 139, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017. The text that is operative on and after January 1, 2024, is set forth for the user’s convenience.

825.450 (Weight receipt). (1) Except as otherwise permitted under ORS 825.470 (Temporary pass), the Department of Transportation shall issue a receipt stating the combined weight of each self-propelled or motor-driven vehicle and any train or combination of vehicles to be used with the self-propelled or motor-driven vehicle.

(2) A person may not load any motor vehicle in excess of its combined weight permit rating determined under subsection (1) of this section except as variations may necessarily result in passenger loading. A fee of $10 shall be paid to the department for each weight receipt issued.

(3) Receipts issued under this section are valid from the first day of any calendar quarter to the last day of the fourth consecutive calendar quarter. Each carrier may select the calendar quarter in which the period will begin except that, if necessary for administrative convenience, the department may require a carrier to adopt a starting date chosen by the department.

(4) All vehicles operating under the carrier’s authority shall have the same four-quarter period of receipt validity. The department may allow a carrier to operate with expired receipts for up to one extra quarter if the renewal application has been submitted and the required fees have been paid on or before the last day of the period of validity of the receipt. The extension of time allowed by this subsection shall be granted only if the department determines that the extension is necessary for the administrative convenience of the department.

(5) The department may adopt rules necessary to administer the provisions of this section.

(formerly 767.775 to 767.995)

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Applica­tion of Article XI, sec­tion 11b of Oregon Constitu­tion to weight-mile tax collected under these pro­vi­sions, (1990) Vol 46, p 447

Chapter 825

(formerly chapter 767)

Notes of Decisions

Political subdivisions subject to pro­vi­sions of Public Contracts and Purchasing Law, [former] ORS chapter 279, are not re­quired to comply with it before entering into contracts for supplies or services of public utilities whose rates are regulated pursuant to this chapter (formerly ORS chapter 767). Bower Trucking and Whse. Co. v. Multnomah Cty., 35 Or App 427, 582 P2d 439 (1978)

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Nonprofit opera­tion of van pools, (1978) Vol 38, p 1780

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 825—Motor Carriers, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors825.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2017, Chapter 825, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano825.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.