ORS 819.160¹
Lien for towing

(1) Except as otherwise provided by this section, a person shall have a lien on the vehicle and its contents if the person, at the request of an authority described under ORS 819.140 (Agencies having authority to take vehicle into custody), tows any of the following vehicles:

(a) An abandoned vehicle appraised at a value of more than $500 by a person who holds a certificate issued under ORS 819.480 (Vehicle appraiser certificate).

(b) A vehicle taken into custody under ORS 819.110 (Custody, towing and sale or disposal of abandoned vehicle) or 819.120 (Immediate custody and towing of vehicle constituting hazard or obstruction), unless it is an abandoned vehicle appraised at a value of $500 or less by a person who holds a certificate issued under ORS 819.480 (Vehicle appraiser certificate).

(c) A vehicle left parked or standing in violation of ORS 811.555 (Illegal stopping, standing or parking) or 811.570 (Improperly positioning parallel parked vehicle).

(2) A lien established under this section shall be on the vehicle and its contents for the just and reasonable charges for the towing service performed and any storage provided. However, the storage charge is limited subject to ORS 98.812 (Towing of unlawfully parked vehicle) (3). A lien described under this section does not attach:

(a) To the contents of any vehicle taken from public property until 15 days after taking the vehicle into custody.

(b) To the contents of any vehicle that is taken into custody for violation of ORS 811.555 (Illegal stopping, standing or parking) or 811.570 (Improperly positioning parallel parked vehicle).

(3) A person that tows any vehicle at the request of an authority under ORS 819.110 (Custody, towing and sale or disposal of abandoned vehicle) or 819.120 (Immediate custody and towing of vehicle constituting hazard or obstruction) shall transmit by first class mail with a certificate of mailing, no later than the third business day after the vehicle and its contents are placed in storage, written notice, approved by the authority, containing information on the procedures necessary to obtain a hearing under ORS 819.190 (Hearing to contest validity of custody and towing). The notice shall be provided to the owner, a person entitled to possession or any person with an interest recorded on the title to the vehicle. This subsection does not apply to a person that tows an abandoned vehicle that is appraised at a value of $500 or less by a person who holds a certificate issued under ORS 819.480 (Vehicle appraiser certificate). [1983 c.338 §422; 1985 c.16 §223; 1993 c.326 §5; 1993 c.385 §6; 1995 c.79 §379; 1995 c.758 §12; 2007 c.538 §15; 2009 c.11 §99; 2009 c.371 §10; 2019 c.547 §4]

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Under Former Similar Statute

Due process require­ments of pro­ce­dures for removal by State Police of abandoned and illegally parked vehicles from right of way of state or interstate highway or from state prop­erty, (1981) Vol 41, p 474

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 819—Value and Stolen Vehicles; Vehicle Identification Numbers; Vehicle Appraisers, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors819.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2019, Chapter 819, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano819.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information