2015 ORS 819.150¹
Rights and liabilities of owner

The owner, a person entitled to possession or any person with an interest recorded on the title of a vehicle taken into custody under ORS 819.110 (Custody, towing and sale or disposal of abandoned vehicle) or 819.120 (Immediate custody and towing of vehicle constituting hazard or obstruction):

(1) Is liable for all costs and expenses incurred in the towing, preservation and custody of the vehicle and its contents except that:

(a) The owner, a person entitled to the vehicle or any person with an interest recorded on the title is not liable for nor shall be required to pay storage charges for a period in excess of 20 days unless the person has received a written notice under ORS 819.160 (Lien for towing). In no case shall a person be required to pay storage charges for a storage period in excess of 60 days.

(b) A security interest holder is not liable under this subsection unless the security interest holder reclaims the vehicle.

(2) May reclaim the vehicle at any time after it is taken into custody and before the vehicle is sold or disposed of under ORS 819.210 (Sale or disposal of vehicle not reclaimed) or 819.215 (Disposal of vehicle appraised at $500 or less) upon presentation to the authority holding the vehicle of satisfactory proof of ownership or right to possession and upon payment of costs and expenses for which the person is liable under this section.

(3) If the vehicle is taken into custody under ORS 819.110 (Custody, towing and sale or disposal of abandoned vehicle) or 819.120 (Immediate custody and towing of vehicle constituting hazard or obstruction), has a right to request and have a hearing under ORS 819.190 (Hearing to contest validity of custody and towing) or under procedures established under ORS 801.040 (Authority to adopt special provisions), as appropriate.

(4) If the vehicle is sold or disposed of under ORS 819.210 (Sale or disposal of vehicle not reclaimed) or 819.215 (Disposal of vehicle appraised at $500 or less), has no further right, title or claim to or interest in the vehicle or the contents of the vehicle.

(5) If the vehicle is sold or disposed of under ORS 819.210 (Sale or disposal of vehicle not reclaimed), has a right to claim the balance of the proceeds from the sale or disposition as provided under ORS 87.206 (Disposition of proceeds of foreclosure sale).

(6) Has no right to a hearing if the vehicle is disposed of under ORS 819.215 (Disposal of vehicle appraised at $500 or less). [1983 c.338 §421; 1985 c.316 §2; 1993 c.233 §64; 1993 c.385 §§5,5a; 1995 c.79 §378; 1995 c.758 §11; 2005 c.738 §4; 2009 c.371 §9]

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Under Former Similar Statute

Due process require­ments of pro­ce­dures for removal by State Police of abandoned and illegally parked vehicles from right of way of state or interstate highway or from state prop­erty, (1981) Vol 41, p 474


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 819—Destroyed, Totaled, Abandoned, Low-Value and Stolen Vehicles; Vehicle Identification Numbers; Vehicle Appraisers, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors819.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2015, Chapter 819, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano819.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.