2015 ORS 819.040¹
Illegal salvage procedures
  • penalty

(1) A person commits the offense of illegal salvage procedures if the person engages in crushing, compacting or shredding of vehicles and the person violates any requirements under the following:

(a) The person may accept vehicles as salvage material from other persons who hold a dismantler certificate issued under ORS 822.110 (Dismantler certificate).

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, the person may not accept vehicles from another person who does not hold a dismantler certificate issued under ORS 822.110 (Dismantler certificate), unless the other person:

(A) Complies with the requirements of ORS 819.010 (Failure to comply with requirements for destruction of vehicle), or is in possession of a salvage title certificate; and

(B) Displays a salvage title certificate, a compliance form issued under ORS 819.030 (Department procedure on receipt of title or notice), or a certificate of sale to the person engaged in salvage.

(c) The person engaged in salvage may accept a copy of the Department of Transportation form issued under ORS 819.030 (Department procedure on receipt of title or notice) as proof of compliance under ORS 819.010 (Failure to comply with requirements for destruction of vehicle) or may accept a certificate of sale or a salvage title certificate, as applicable, and surrender such copy or certificate to the department.

(d) The person may accept vehicles as salvage material from tow businesses disposing of vehicles as authorized under ORS 819.215 (Disposal of vehicle appraised at $500 or less) or 819.280 (Disposal of vehicle at request of person in lawful possession) if the tow business gives the person a copy of notification made to the department under ORS 819.215 (Disposal of vehicle appraised at $500 or less) or 819.280 (Disposal of vehicle at request of person in lawful possession).

(2) If a salvage title has been issued in a form other than a certificate, the person engaged in salvage may accept documents or information in a manner or form determined by the department by rule.

(3) The offense described in this section, illegal salvage procedures, is a Class A misdemeanor. [1983 c.338 §197; 1985 c.16 §70; 1991 c.873 §39; 1993 c.233 §63; 1993 c.326 §3; 2005 c.654 §28; 2005 c.738 §3; 2009 c.371 §4]


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 819—Destroyed, Totaled, Abandoned, Low-Value and Stolen Vehicles; Vehicle Identification Numbers; Vehicle Appraisers, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors819.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.