2015 ORS 819.010¹
Failure to comply with requirements for destruction of vehicle
  • exception
  • penalty

(1) A person commits the offense of failure to comply with requirements for destruction of a vehicle if the person wrecks, dismantles, disassembles or substantially alters the form of any vehicle that is or is required to be registered or titled under the vehicle code or under ORS chapter 826 and the person does not comply with all of the following:

(a) The person must give notice to the Department of Transportation, in a form specified by the department, of the person’s intention to dismantle, disassemble, wreck or substantially alter the form of the vehicle at least seven days prior to commencement thereof.

(b) If the vehicle is visible from a public right of way, the person must complete the wrecking, dismantling, disassembling or substantial alteration of form within 30 days from the commencement thereof.

(c) If the vehicle is registered by this state, the person must deliver or mail to the department the registration card, certificate of title, if one has been issued, and registration plates of the vehicle within 30 days after the person wrecks, dismantles, disassembles or substantially alters the form of the vehicle.

(d) If no certificate of title has been issued for the vehicle, the person must notify the department in a manner determined by the department by rule within 30 days after the person wrecks, dismantles, disassembles or substantially alters the form of the vehicle.

(e) If required to do so under ORS 819.016 (When salvage title required), the person shall apply for a salvage title for the vehicle.

(2) This section does not apply to persons who are acting within the scope of a dismantler certificate issued under ORS 822.110 (Dismantler certificate).

(3) The offense described in this section, failure to comply with requirements for destruction of vehicle, is a Class A misdemeanor. [1983 c.338 §193; 1985 c.16 §68; 1985 c.401 §2; 1991 c.407 §33; 1991 c.873 §36; 1993 c.233 §57; 1993 c.751 §75; 2005 c.654 §27; 2007 c.683 §1]


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 819—Destroyed, Totaled, Abandoned, Low-Value and Stolen Vehicles; Vehicle Identification Numbers; Vehicle Appraisers, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors819.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.