ORS 818.225¹
Road use assessment fee for single-trip nondivisible load permittee
  • rules

(1) As used in this section, “equivalent single-axle load” means the relationship between actual or requested weight and an 18,000 pound single-axle load as determined by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Road Tests reported at the Proceedings Conference of 1962.

(2)(a) In addition to any fee for a single-trip nondivisible load permit, a person who is issued the permit or who operates a vehicle in a manner that requires the permit is liable for payment of a road use assessment fee computed on the basis of the following rates per equivalent single-axle load mile traveled:

(A) For the period beginning on January 1, 2018, and ending on December 31, 2019, eight and five-tenths cents.

(B) For the period beginning on January 1, 2020, and ending on December 31, 2021, nine and three-tenths cents.

(C) For the period beginning on January 1, 2022, and ending on December 31, 2023, ten and three-tenths cents.

(b) If the road use assessment fee is not collected at the time of issuance of the permit, the department shall bill the permittee for the amount due. The account shall be considered delinquent if not paid within 60 days of billing.

(c) The miles of travel authorized by a single-trip nondivisible load permit shall be exempt from taxation under ORS chapter 825.

(3) The department may adopt rules:

(a) To standardize the determination of equivalent single-axle load computation based on average highway conditions; and

(b) To establish procedures for payment, collection and enforcement of the fees and assessments established by this chapter. [1989 c.992 §15; 1991 c.497 §12; 1995 c.447 §4; 1995 c.733 §91; 2003 c.618 §3; 2009 c.865 §51; 2017 c.750 §51; 2018 c.93 §26]

Note: The amendments to 818.225 (Road use assessment fee for single-trip nondivisible load permittee) by section 52, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, become operative January 1, 2024, and apply to road use assessment fees imposed on or after January 1, 2024. See section 53, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, and section 139, chapter 750, Oregon Laws 2017, as amended by section 31, chapter 93, Oregon Laws 2018. The text that is operative on and after January 1, 2024, including amendments by section 27, chapter 93, Oregon Laws 2018, is set forth for the user’s convenience.

818.225 (Road use assessment fee for single-trip nondivisible load permittee). (1) As used in this section, “equivalent single-axle load” means the relationship between actual or requested weight and an 18,000 pound single-axle load as determined by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Road Tests reported at the Proceedings Conference of 1962.

(2)(a) In addition to any fee for a single-trip nondivisible load permit, a person who is issued the permit or who operates a vehicle in a manner that requires the permit is liable for payment of a road use assessment fee of ten and nine-tenths cents per equivalent single-axle load mile traveled.

(b) If the road use assessment fee is not collected at the time of issuance of the permit, the department shall bill the permittee for the amount due. The account shall be considered delinquent if not paid within 60 days of billing.

(c) The miles of travel authorized by a single-trip nondivisible load permit shall be exempt from taxation under ORS chapter 825.

(3) The department may adopt rules:

(a) To standardize the determination of equivalent single-axle load computation based on average highway conditions; and

(b) To establish procedures for payment, collection and enforcement of the fees and assessments established by this chapter.

Chapter 818

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Under Former Similar Statute

County crim­i­nal liability for oversized county road maintenance vehicles operating on county road only, (1981) Vol 42, p 98

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 818—Vehicle Limits, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors818.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2019, Chapter 818, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano818.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information