2017 ORS 816.280¹
Warning lights

This section establishes standards for different types of warning lights. Each of the following is a requirement for warning lights as described:

(1) The following are the colors for the indicated type of warning light:

(a) Public vehicle warning lights, pilot vehicle warning lights and commercial vehicle warning lights shall be amber.

(b) Tow vehicle warning lights may be amber or red.

(c) Weighmaster and motor carrier enforcement officer warning lights shall be red.

(d) Warning lights on vehicles engaged in the removal, containment or cleanup of a hazardous materials release, and on vehicles at the scene of a potential release of hazardous materials, may be red or amber.

(e) Warning lights on vehicles being used by medical examiners to reach the scene of an accident or of a death investigation may be red.

(2) Warning lights shall provide an intermittent light that may be either of a revolving or flashing type or any other type that provides an intermittent light.

(3) All warning lights shall be visible from a distance of not less than 500 feet under normal atmospheric conditions at night. [1983 c.338 §458 (25); 1985 c.16 §240 (25); 1985 c.69 §1 (25); 1985 c.71 §4 (25); 1985 c.393 §13 (25); 1985 c.420 §6 (25); 1989 c.402 §10; 1991 c.769 §3; 1993 c.741 §104; 1999 c.497 §1; 2003 c.245 §3]

Chapter 816

Notes of Decisions

Under Former Similar Statute

Statutory require­ments for lighting of motor vehicles apply to a tractor when operated on a highway, even when the tractor is crossing the highway at right angles to the flow of traffic. Beglau v. Albertus, 272 Or 170, 536 P2d 1251 (1975)

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 816—Vehicle Equipment: Lights, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors816.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2017, Chapter 816, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano816.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.