2015 ORS 815.284¹
Violation of electric personal assistive mobility device equipment requirements
  • penalty

(1) A person commits the offense of violation of electric personal assistive mobility device equipment requirements if the person:

(a) Operates an electric personal assistive mobility device during times of limited visibility conditions and the electric personal assistive mobility device or the operator is not equipped with and using the following:

(A) A white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front and sides of the electric personal assistive mobility device; and

(B) A red reflector, lighting device or material of such size or characteristic as to be visible from all distances up to 600 feet to the rear when the electric personal assistive mobility device is directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlights on a motor vehicle; or

(b) Installs or uses any siren or whistle upon an electric personal assistive mobility device.

(2) Nothing in this section prohibits the use of additional parts and accessories not inconsistent with this section.

(3) The offense described in this section, violation of electric personal assistive mobility device equipment requirements, is a Class D traffic violation. [2003 c.341 §10]


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 815—Vehicle Equipment Generally, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors815.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.