2015 ORS 815.283¹
Violation of motor assisted scooter equipment requirements
  • penalty

(1) A person commits the offense of violation of motor assisted scooter equipment requirements if the person:

(a) Is the parent, legal guardian or person with legal responsibility for the safety and welfare of a child under 16 years of age and authorizes or knowingly permits the child to operate a motor assisted scooter on any highway in violation of the requirements of this section; or

(b) Operates a motor assisted scooter on any highway during times of limited visibility conditions and the motor assisted scooter is not equipped with, or the person does not use, lighting equipment that meets the following requirements:

(A) If the motor assisted scooter is equipped with lighting equipment:

(i) The lighting equipment must include a white light visible from a distance of at least 300 feet to the front and sides of the motor assisted scooter;

(ii) The lighting equipment must have a red reflector or lighting device, or material of such size or characteristic, mounted to be visible from all distances up to 500 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlights on a motor vehicle; and

(iii) The lighting equipment must have a white or yellow reflector or lighting device, or material of such size or characteristic, mounted to be visible from all distances up to 200 feet to the front of the motor assisted scooter.

(B) If the motor assisted scooter is not equipped with lighting equipment, the operator of the motor assisted scooter must wear:

(i) A white light mounted to be visible from all distances up to 300 feet to the front and sides of the motor assisted scooter;

(ii) A red reflector or lighting device, or material of such size or characteristic, mounted to be visible from all distances up to 500 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful lower beams of headlights on a motor vehicle; and

(iii) A white or yellow reflector or lighting device, or material of such size or characteristic, mounted to be visible from all distances up to 200 feet to the front of the motor assisted scooter.

(2) Nothing in this section prohibits the use of additional parts and accessories on any motor assisted scooter not inconsistent with this section.

(3) The offense described in this section, violation of motor assisted scooter equipment requirements, is a Class D traffic violation. [2001 c.749 §19]


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 815—Vehicle Equipment Generally, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors815.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.