Civil penalty for violation of out-of-service order or notice
(1) The Department of Transportation shall impose a civil penalty on the operator of a commercial motor vehicle if:
(a) The operator has violated an out-of-service order issued under ORS 813.050 (Out-of-service orders for operators of commercial motor vehicles) or any other out-of-service order or notice issued by the department or an authorized representative of the department; or
(b) The department receives notification that a person has violated any out-of-service order or notice issued by a state or federal agency.
(2) For the purposes of this section, "notification" may include, but is not limited to, a record of conviction or a record of a determination by a state or federal agency with jurisdiction to determine that the operator has violated an out-of-service order or notice.
(3) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed in the manner provided in ORS 183.745 (Civil penalty procedures) and may not be reduced. The civil penalties are:
(a) $2,500 for the first violation of an out-of-service order or notice.
(b) $5,000 for a second or subsequent violation of an out-of-service order or notice. [2009 c.395 §14]
Note: 813.055 (Civil penalty for violation of out-of-service order or notice) was added to and made a part of the Oregon Vehicle Code by legislative action but was not added to ORS chapter 813 or any series therein. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.