2015 ORS 809.260¹
Court-ordered suspension of driving privileges for convicted juvenile

(1) Whenever a person who is 17 years of age or younger, but not younger than 13 years of age, is convicted of any offense described in this subsection or determined by a juvenile court to have committed one of the described offenses, the court in which the person is convicted shall order suspension of the person’s driving privileges. This subsection applies to ORS 166.370 (Possession of firearm or dangerous weapon in public building or court facility) and to any offense involving the delivery, manufacture or possession of controlled substances.

(2) Whenever a person who is 20 years of age or younger, but not younger than 13 years of age, at the time of committing any offense described in this subsection, is convicted or determined by a juvenile court to have committed one of the described offenses, the court in which the person is convicted shall order suspension of the person’s driving privileges. This subsection applies to any offense involving the possession, use or abuse of alcohol.

(3) If a court has issued an order suspending driving privileges under this section, the court, upon petition of the person, may review the order and may withdraw the order at any time the court deems appropriate except as provided in the following:

(a) A court may not withdraw an order for a period of 90 days following the issuance of the order if it is the first such order issued with respect to the person.

(b) A court may not withdraw an order for a period of one year following the issuance of the order if it is the second or subsequent such order issued with respect to the person.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, a court may not withdraw an order for a period of six months if the order is based on a determination or conviction involving controlled substances.

(4) Upon receipt of an order under this section, the department shall take action as directed under ORS 809.280 (Department procedures following court order of suspension or revocation). [1985 c.16 §206; 1991 c.835 §3; 1993 c.625 §6; 1999 c.1051 §88; 2007 c.359 §1; 2009 c.228 §2; 2011 c.355 §7]

Notes of Decisions

Under Former Similar Statute

Phrase "17 years of age or younger" is unambiguous, and applies to defendant, who has passed his 17th birthday but not yet reached his 18th. State ex rel Juv. Dept. v. White, 83 Or App 225, 730 P2d 1279 (1986), Sup Ct review denied

Provisions of this sec­tion that per­sons over age of 13 and under 17 years old who are convicted of being mi­nor in pos­ses­sion of alcohol shall have driving privileges denied does not violate Oregon Constitu­tion, Article I, sec­tion 20 or Article I, sec­tion 16. State v. Day, 84 Or App 291, 733 P2d 937 (1987), Sup Ct review denied


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 809—Refusal, Suspension, Cancellation and Revocation of Registration, Title, Driving Privileges and Identification Card; Vehicle Impoundment, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors809.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2015, Chapter 809, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano809.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.