Additional eligibility requirements for persons under 18 years of age
- • provisional driver license
(1) The Department of Transportation may not issue a driver license to a person who is under 18 years of age unless the person:
(a) Complies with the requirements of ORS 807.040 (Requirements for issuance) and 807.066 (School requirements for persons under 18 years of age);
(b) Passes an examination designed to test the person’s knowledge and understanding of safe driving practices, in addition to any examination required under ORS 807.070 (Examinations);
(c) Has had, for at least six months prior to application for the license, an instruction driver permit issued under ORS 807.280 (Instruction driver permit) or the equivalent of an instruction driver permit issued by another state of the United States or by the District of Columbia;
(d) Certifies to the department that the person has had at least 50 hours of driving experience during which the person was supervised by a person at least 21 years of age who has had a valid driver license for at least three years; and
(e) Completes a traffic safety education course that meets standards developed by the department under ORS 336.802 (Traffic safety education course). In lieu of completion of a traffic safety education course, a person may certify to the department that the person has had at least 50 hours of driving experience during which the person was supervised by a person at least 21 years of age who has had a valid driver license for at least three years, in addition to the 50 hours required by paragraph (d) of this subsection.
(2) A person under 18 years of age need not comply with the requirements of subsection (1)(c), (d) and (e) of this section if the person has been issued a driver license by another state and surrenders that license in order to get an Oregon license.
(3) If the person takes but does not pass a test that consists of an actual demonstration of driving ability under ORS 807.070 (Examinations), the department may not allow the person to perform the demonstration again until the person has had an instruction permit issued pursuant to ORS 807.280 (Instruction driver permit) for a period of not less than one month.
(4) A driver license issued pursuant to this section shall be a provisional driver license.
(5) The department shall prominently identify each driver license issued pursuant to this section as a provisional driver license. [1989 c.715 §2; 1993 c.751 §37; 1999 c.328 §1; 1999 c.789 §5; 2001 c.176 §4; 2003 c.92 §1]
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.