2017 ORS 803.102¹
Odometer disclosure statement upon transfer of interest
  • when required
  • rules

(1) As used in this section:

(a) “Transferee” means any person to whom ownership of a motor vehicle is transferred by purchase, gift or any other means other than by creation of a security interest and any person who, as an agent, signs an odometer disclosure statement for the transferee.

(b) “Transferor” means any person who transfers ownership of a motor vehicle by sale, gift or any means other than by creation of a security interest and any person who, as an agent, signs an odometer disclosure statement for the transferor.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in this section, upon transfer of any interest in a motor vehicle, an odometer disclosure statement shall be made by the transferor to the transferee. The disclosure shall be in a form that complies with the provisions of ORS 803.120 (Odometer disclosure) and shall contain the information required under ORS 803.122 (Information required).

(3) If a transfer requiring a disclosure statement involves a leased vehicle, the lessor shall notify the lessee that the lessee is required to provide odometer disclosure. The lessee shall furnish the lessor with a form that complies with the requirements of ORS 803.120 (Odometer disclosure) and shall provide the information required by ORS 803.122 (Information required) except that for purposes of the required information, the lessee shall be considered the transferor, the lessor shall be considered the transferee and the date shall be the date of the disclosure statement.

(4) Where an interest in a vehicle is transferred by operation of law, the Department of Transportation shall determine by rule whether an odometer disclosure statement is required and if so, who is required to provide it.

(5) The odometer disclosure requirements of this section do not apply upon transfer of an interest where the transfer is due solely to the creation, release or assignment of a security interest, or upon transfer of an interest in any of the following:

(a) A vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds.

(b) A vehicle that is not self-propelled.

(c) A vehicle that is at least 10 years old.

(d) A vehicle that is sold directly by the manufacturer to any agency of the United States in conformity with contractual specifications.

(e) A vehicle that is exempted from the requirement by rules of the department.

(6) A person may provide an odometer reading to the department, in the manner prescribed by the department by rule, for a vehicle that is 10 years old or older. [1989 c.148 §4; 1991 c.67 §214; 1991 c.873 §1; 2013 c.659 §1]

Chapter 803

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Applica­tion of Article XI, sec­tion 11b of Oregon Constitu­tion to fees imposed under this chapter, (1991) Vol 46, p 447

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 803—Vehicle Title and Registration, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors803.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2017, Chapter 803, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano803.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.