2017 ORS 703.445¹
Renewal procedure
  • fee
  • penalty
  • rules
  • inactive status

(1) An investigator who desires to continue to practice in this state must apply for renewal and pay the renewal fee as prescribed by rule of the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training to the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training on or before the renewal date of the license. Any person who fails to pay the renewal fee by the renewal date may, within the following 30 days, pay the renewal fee plus a penalty in an amount to be prescribed by board rule, not to exceed twice the amount of the renewal fee. Any person who fails to pay the renewal fee, with accrued penalties, for a period of 30 days after the renewal date forfeits the right to work as an investigator in this state and may be reinstated only upon compliance with the initial application procedures.

(2) Prior to renewing a license, the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training may request that the Department of State Police conduct criminal records checks as provided in ORS 181A.195 (Criminal records check). Any act that is grounds for denying an initial application for a license is grounds for refusing to renew a license.

(3) An investigator may request the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training to place the investigator on inactive status at any time during the licensing period. Upon payment of the inactive license fee as prescribed by rule of the board, the department shall place the investigator on inactive status. An investigator on inactive status may not work as an investigator. [1997 c.870 §9; 1999 c.125 §4; 2001 c.838 §8; 2005 c.613 §17; 2005 c.730 §44; 2007 c.320 §6]

Notes of Decisions

In prison disciplinary hearing, introduc­tion of actual ques­tions asked prisoner during polygraph examina­tion, re­gard­ing his involve­ment in alleged assault, constituted sufficient founda­tion for admission of record of polygraph test and conclusions of general polygraph examiner, notwithstanding that prisoner’s verbal answers were not recorded or introduced. Preston v. OSP, 35 Or App 799, 583 P2d 9 (1978)

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 703—Truth Verification and Deception Detection; Investigators, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors703.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2017, Chapter 703, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano703.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.