Right to rest between work shifts
(1) Unless the employee requests or consents to work such hours, an employer may not schedule or require an employee to work during the following rest periods:
(a) The first 10 hours following the end of the previous calendar day’s work shift or on-call shift; or
(b) The first 10 hours following the end of a work shift or on-call shift that spanned two calendar days.
(2) Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, an employer shall compensate an employee for each hour or portion of an hour that the employee works during a rest period described in subsection (1) of this section at one and one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay.
(3) Subsection (2) of this section does not apply to any hour or portion of an hour an employee works during the rest period described in subsection (1) of this section during which the employee is engaged in providing roadside assistance services. As used in this subsection, “roadside assistance” means offsite repair assistance rendered to a motorist with a disabled vehicle. [2017 c.691 §6]
Note: 653.442 (Right to rest between work shifts) becomes operative July 1, 2018. See section 16, chapter 691, Oregon Laws 2017.
Note: See second note under 653.412 (Definitions).
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.