ORS 646A.470¹
Sale or lease of returned assistive device

(1) An assistive device returned by a consumer or dealer in this state, or by a consumer or dealer in another state under a similar law of that state, may not be sold or leased again in this state unless full disclosure of the reasons for return is made to the prospective buyer or lessee.

(2) If a sale or lease is made in violation of subsection (1) of this section, a consumer who bought or took the lease of the assistive device shall have the rights of a consumer of a new device provided by ORS 646A.466 (Replacement or refund after attempt to repair), without regard to whether there is a nonconformity or to whether there has been a reasonable attempt to repair the device. The following paragraphs apply to a sale or lease under this section:

(a) If the consumer chooses the refund option described in ORS 646A.466 (Replacement or refund after attempt to repair), there shall be no deduction from the full purchase price in calculating the refund under ORS 646A.466 (Replacement or refund after attempt to repair);

(b) The rights described in this subsection run against the person who last sold or transferred the assistive device to any other person, whether or not the other person is a consumer, so long as the last person to sell or transfer the device had knowledge of the previous return of the device and did not provide the disclosure required by subsection (1) of this section; and

(c) The rights described under this subsection must be declared and exercised by a consumer within two years after the consumer knows of the previous return and can identify the person against whom the rights run. [Formerly 646.492]

Law Review Cita­tions

52 WLR 451 (2016)

(formerly 646.315 to 646.375)

Notes of Decisions

Where purchaser fails to provide notice of condi­tion requiring repair, presump­tion does not arise that repair time exceeding 30 business days demonstrates inability of manufacturer to conform vehicle. Pavel v. Winnebago Industries, Inc., 127 Or App 16, 870 P2d 856 (1994)

Repair time exceeding 30 business days as evidence of inability to conform vehicle applies only to presently existing defect. Pavel v. Winnebago Industries, Inc., 127 Or App 16, 870 P2d 856 (1994)

Law Review Cita­tions

19 WLR 329 (1983)

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 646A—Trade Regulation, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors646A.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2019, Chapter 646A, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano646A.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information