Registration of telephonic sellers
- • fee
- • Attorney General as attorney for service of process
- • rules
(1) A telephonic seller shall not conduct business in this state without having registered with the Department of Justice at least 10 days prior to the conduct of such business. A telephonic seller is required to register in the name under which the telephonic seller conducts business. Individual employees of the telephonic seller are not required to register. A telephonic seller is conducting business in this state if telephone solicitations of prospective purchasers are made from locations in this state or solicitation is made of prospective purchasers located in this state.
(2) A registration shall be effective for one year from the date of filing with the Department of Justice. Each application for registration, or renewal thereof, shall be accompanied by a fee of $400.
(3) The Department of Justice shall send to each registrant a certificate or other appropriate document demonstrating registration compliance, which shall be posted at the telephonic seller’s principal business location.
(4) Each application for registration shall be in writing and shall contain such information regarding the conduct of the telephonic seller’s business and the personnel conducting the business and shall be submitted in such form and manner as the Department of Justice may prescribe.
(5) At the time of submission of a registration application, each telephonic seller shall file with the Attorney General an irrevocable consent appointing the Attorney General to act as the telephonic seller’s attorney to receive service of process in any action, suit or proceeding against the telephonic seller or the telephonic seller’s successor in interest which may arise under ORS 336.184 (Oregon Student Information Protection Act) and 646.605 (Definitions for ORS 336.184 and 646.605 to 646.652) to 646.652 (District attorney's reports to Attorney General).
(6) The Department of Justice may refuse to issue a registration to, and may suspend, revoke or refuse to renew the registration of, any person who:
(a) Has obtained or attempted to obtain a registration under ORS 646.551 (Definitions for ORS 646.551 to 646.557) to 646.557 (Required disclosures by telephonic seller) by fraud or material misrepresentation;
(b) Has violated any provision of ORS 646.551 (Definitions for ORS 646.551 to 646.557) to 646.557 (Required disclosures by telephonic seller);
(c) Has violated a provision of ORS 646.607 (Unlawful business, trade practices) or 646.608 (Additional unlawful business, trade practices);
(d) Has violated an assurance of voluntary compliance entered into under ORS 336.184 (Oregon Student Information Protection Act) and 646.605 (Definitions for ORS 336.184 and 646.605 to 646.652) to 646.652 (District attorney's reports to Attorney General);
(e) Is guilty of fraud or deceit, or of gross negligence, incompetency or misconduct in the person’s practice of business as a telephonic seller, creating a risk of financial or other injury to the public;
(f) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of any state or of the United States. However, such conduct may be considered only to the extent permissible under the provisions of ORS 670.280 (Denial, suspension or revocation of license based on criminal conviction);
(g) Has been convicted of any crime, an element of which is dishonesty or fraud, under the laws of any state or of the United States; or
(h) Has had the person’s authority to engage in business as a telephonic seller refused, canceled, revoked, suspended or not renewed in any state.
(7) When the Department of Justice proposes to refuse to issue or renew a registration or proposes to revoke or suspend a registration, opportunity for hearing shall be accorded as provided in ORS chapter 183. The Department of Justice shall adopt rules prescribing the conduct of the hearing, including but not limited to rules governing the admissibility of evidence.
(8) A person whose registration is revoked or not renewed pursuant to this section shall not be eligible to apply for a registration under ORS 646.551 (Definitions for ORS 646.551 to 646.557) to 646.557 (Required disclosures by telephonic seller) until two years after the effective date of the revocation or nonrenewal.
(9) A telephonic seller whose registration is revoked, suspended or not renewed under this section shall not conduct business in this state. [1989 c.622 §3; 1999 c.368 §1]
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.