2017 ORS 633.700¹
Retailer and wholesaler licenses
  • exemption
  • rules
  • fees

(1) A person may not sell, offer or expose for sale in this state, or contract to have produced in this state for commercial purposes, any agricultural, flower or vegetable seeds unless the person holds an unsuspended license issued by the State Department of Agriculture. However, a person is not required to obtain a license if the person is selling only seeds produced by the person or if the person is selling flower or vegetable seeds at retail in packages weighing not more than one-half pound that were prepared for retail sale by a seed company licensed under this section. For the purposes of this section, persons operating more than one branch, plant or warehouse where seeds are sold, offered or exposed for sale shall secure a separate license for each such branch, plant or warehouse.

(2) Any person desiring to sell, offer or expose for sale in this state any agricultural, flower or vegetable seeds, for planting purposes, except as provided in this section, shall make application to the Director of Agriculture for a license for this purpose. The application shall be signed by the applicant or the authorized agent of the applicant and shall be in a form approved by the director. Upon presentation of such signed application for a license and the tendering of the license fee established by the department pursuant to subsection (3) of this section, the department shall issue the license to the applicant. The license shall expire on June 30 next following the date of issuance or on such date as may be specified by department rule.

(3) The department shall establish annual license fees, not to exceed $75 for a retailer’s license and not to exceed $750 for a wholesaler’s license. Only one license shall be required for one person’s operation at one location. [Amended by 1955 c.379 §19; 1957 c.407 §2; 1977 c.625 §2; 1985 c.353 §4; 1989 c.514 §1; 1991 c.288 §1; 1993 c.665

§1; 2003 c.14 §387; 2007 c.281 §15; 2007 c.768 §39; 2011 c.324 §1; 2011 c.356 §16]

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 633—Grades, Standards and Labels for Feeds, Soil Enhancers and Seeds, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors633.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.