License fee surcharge
(1) As used in this section, "dealer" and "grower" have the meanings given those terms in ORS 571.005 (Definitions for ORS 571.005 to 571.230).
(2) The State Department of Agriculture shall make a yearly determination of the additional amount, if any, required to achieve a principal balance of $250,000 in the Plant Pest and Disease Emergency Response Fund. If the department determines that an additional amount is required to achieve a principal balance of $250,000, the department shall determine an assessment rate based on the additional amount required to achieve the $250,000 fund balance and the total in the previous license year of gross dollar purchases by dealers, gross dollar sales by growers and sales value of plants produced in Oregon by licensees under ORS 571.057 (License application) other than dealers or growers.
(3) The department may impose a surcharge on license fees established pursuant to ORS 571.057 (License application). The surcharge for a licensee shall be calculated based on the assessment rate determined under subsection (2) of this section and the purchase, sales or sales value volume that is the basis for the license fee assessed to the licensee under ORS 571.057 (License application). Surcharges imposed under this subsection shall be deposited to the fund.
(4) The department shall apply for any federal funding available and may seek gifts, grants and donations for the purpose of increasing or replenishing the fund balance or avoiding expenditures from the fund. [2005 c.540 §2]
Note: 571.059 (License fee surcharge) was enacted into law by the Legislative Assembly but was not added to or made a part of ORS chapter 571 or any series therein by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.