2017 ORS 561.300¹
Unpaid license fees
  • delinquent renewal penalty
  • notice required
  • collection procedure

(1) The State Department of Agriculture may collect a delinquent renewal penalty for any license fee required by law under the jurisdiction of the department if the licensee has failed to renew the license before the 60th day after the license expiration date. All delinquent renewal penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the same account as the corresponding license fee. The department shall collect the following delinquent renewal penalties:

(a) For license fees $100 or less, $30 or the amount of the license fee, whichever amount is less.

(b) For license fees greater than $100, 30 percent of the amount of the license fee or $750, whichever amount is less.

(2) Any unpaid license fee and delinquent renewal penalty required by law under the jurisdiction of the department for a prior licensing period or year continues to be owing to the department. Before taking any action or procedure against a person who should have paid a prior license fee, the department shall forward a written notice to the person by certified mail at the last-known address of the person on the records of the department advising of the amount owing. The notice shall give such person 20 days after the mailing date to pay the amount due or to present written or oral information or argument as to why the person believes the license fee is not owing. If after such period the department is of the opinion the license fee for the prior period is owing, it may then initiate such actions or procedures authorized under the applicable licensing law to collect the amount due.

(3) The provisions of subsection (2) of this section do not apply to a statute under the jurisdiction of the department if specific provisions cover collection of unpaid license fees thereunder. [1967 c.437 §4; 1993 c.536 §1]

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 561—State Department of Agriculture, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors561.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.