2017 ORS 460.320¹
Permit and insurance required
  • notice of termination of insurance
  • rules

(1) No person shall:

(a) Operate an amusement ride or device without a valid operation permit therefor issued under ORS 460.330 (Application for and issuance of permit), or allow an amusement ride or device owned, leased, controlled or managed by the person to be so operated.

(b) Operate an amusement ride or device without first having obtained insurance from a company authorized to transact insurance in this state or an eligible surplus lines insurer as defined in ORS 735.405 (Definitions for ORS 735.400 to 735.495). The insurance policy shall insure the public and all persons riding or otherwise in contact with the ride or device against loss or injury, in an amount not less than $1 million per occurrence and an aggregate total of not less than $2 million.

(2) Whenever an insurance company notifies its insured that it will no longer insure an amusement ride or device, or that insurance on a ride or device is no longer in force, the insurance company shall also notify the Department of Consumer and Business Services, in a form and manner prescribed by rule by the department, of the description or identification number of the ride or device for which insurance is canceled or suspended or is not to be renewed. [1959 c.619 §2; 1981 c.566 §7; 1985 c.705 §2; 1993 c.164 §2]

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 460—Elevators; Amusement Rides and Devices, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors460.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.