2017 ORS 456.595¹
Petroleum supplier assessment
  • computation
  • effect of failure to pay
  • interest

(1) Each petroleum supplier shall annually pay to the Housing and Community Services Department its share of a petroleum supplier assessment.

(2) Moneys received by the department under this section shall be deposited in the Oil-Heated Dwellings Energy Account to be used only to fund:

(a) Provision by the department of information, assistance and technical advice to residential customers of fuel oil dealers, including information about energy conservation measures and home energy audits as that term is defined in ORS 469.703 (Home energy performance score system);

(b) Cash payments to a dwelling owner or contractor for energy conservation measures; and

(c) The administration and enforcement of ORS 456.594 (Definitions) to 456.599 (Rules).

(3) The amount of the assessment required by subsection (1) of this section shall be determined by the Director of the Housing and Community Services Department in a manner consistent with the method prescribed in ORS 469.421 (Fees). The aggregate amount of the assessment shall not exceed $400,000. In making this assessment, the director shall exclude all gallons of distillate fuel oil sold by petroleum suppliers that are subject to the requirements of Article IX, section 3a, of the Oregon Constitution, or ORS 319.020 (Monthly statement by dealer) or 319.530 (Imposition of tax).

(4) If any petroleum supplier fails to pay any amount assessed to it under this section within 30 days after the payment is due, the Attorney General, on behalf of the Housing and Community Services Department, may institute a proceeding in the circuit court to collect the amount due.

(5) Interest on delinquent assessments shall be added to and paid at the rate of one and one-half percent of the payment due per month or fraction of a month from the date the payment was due to the date of payment.

(6) The assessment required by subsection (1) of this section is in addition to any assessment required by ORS 469.421 (Fees) (8), and any other fee or assessment required by law. [Formerly 469.681]

Note: See note under 456.594 (Definitions).

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 456—Housing, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors456.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.