2015 ORS 430.755¹
Retaliation prohibited
  • liability for retaliation

(1) A facility, community program or person shall not retaliate against any person who reports in good faith suspected abuse or against the allegedly abused adult with respect to any report.

(2) Any facility, community program or person that retaliates against any person because of a report of suspected abuse shall be liable in a private action to that person for actual damages and, in addition, a penalty up to $1,000, notwithstanding any other remedy provided by law.

(3)(a) Any adverse action is evidence of retaliation if taken within 90 days of a report.

(b) For purposes of this subsection, "adverse action" means any action taken by a facility, community program or person involved in a report against the person making the report or against the adult with respect to whom the report was made because of the report, and includes but is not limited to:

(A) Discharge or transfer from the facility, except for clinical reasons;

(B) Discharge from or termination of employment;

(C) Demotion or reduction in remuneration for services; or

(D) Restriction or prohibition of access to the facility or its residents. [1991 c.744 §8; 2003 c.443 §5]

Note: See note under 430.735 (Definitions for ORS 430.735 to 430.765).


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 430—Mental Health; Developmental Disabilities; Alcohol and Drug Treatment Programs, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors430.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.