Hold by licensed independent practitioner
- • when authorized
- • statement required
(1) A licensed independent practitioner may hold a person for transportation to a treatment facility for up to 12 hours in a health care facility licensed under ORS chapter 441 and approved by the Oregon Health Authority if:
(a) The licensed independent practitioner believes the person is dangerous to self or to any other person and is in need of emergency care or treatment for mental illness;
(b) The licensed independent practitioner is not related to the person by blood or marriage; and
(c) A licensed independent practitioner with admitting privileges at the receiving facility consents to the transporting.
(2) Before transporting the person, the licensed independent practitioner shall prepare a written statement that:
(a) The licensed independent practitioner has examined the person within the preceding 12 hours;
(b) A licensed independent practitioner with admitting privileges at the receiving facility has consented to the transporting of the person for examination and admission if appropriate; and
(c) The licensed independent practitioner believes the person is dangerous to self or to any other person and is in need of emergency care or treatment for mental illness.
(3) The written statement required by subsection (2) of this section authorizes a peace officer, an individual authorized under ORS 426.233 (Authority of community mental health program director and of other individuals) or the designee of a community mental health program director to transport a person to the treatment facility indicated on the statement. [1993 c.484 §3; 1997 c.531 §3; 2009 c.595 §403; 2013 c.360 §39; 2015 c.461 §12]
Note: See note under 426.228 (Custody).
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information