ORS 414.066¹
Billing patient for services covered by medical assistance prohibited

(1) A health care provider may not bill or solicit payment from a medical assistance applicant or recipient for services, except for copayments or other charges authorized by the Oregon Health Authority by rule.

(2)(a) A health care provider that submits a claim for payment to the authority or a coordinated care organization shall wait to receive payment for at least 90 days after submitting the claim before assigning the claim to a collection agency or similar entity to recover from the patient.

(b) If the claim remains unpaid 90 days after a health care provider submits the claim to the authority or a coordinated care organization, the health care provider shall first query the medical assistance program database to confirm the patient’s eligibility for medical assistance.

(c) The health care provider may not assign the claim for collection if the authority confirms that the patient was eligible for medical assistance at the time the services were provided. [2017 c.287 §2]

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 414—Medical Assistance, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors414.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information