ORS 390.570¹
Class I all-terrain vehicle operator permits
  • issuance
  • safety education courses
  • rules
  • fee

(1) The State Parks and Recreation Department shall issue or provide for issuance of a Class I all-terrain vehicle operator permit to any person who:

(a) Has taken a Class I all-terrain vehicle safety education course established under this section and has been found qualified to operate a Class I all-terrain vehicle; or

(b) Is at least 16 years of age, has five or more years of experience operating a Class I all-terrain vehicle and passes an equivalency examination.

(2) The department shall adopt rules to provide for Class I all-terrain vehicle safety education courses, equivalency examinations and the issuance of Class I all-terrain vehicle operator permits consistent with this section. The rules adopted by the department shall be consistent with the following:

(a) The courses must be given by instructors designated by the department as qualified to conduct the courses and issue the permits.

(b) The instructors may be provided and permits issued through public or private local and state organizations meeting qualifications established by the department.

(c) The department may collect a fee of not more than $5 from each participant in a course established under this section. [1999 c.977 §6; 2007 c.887 §11]

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 390—Scenic Waterways; Recreation Trails Parks; Recreation;, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors390.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information