- • penalty
- • rules
(1) Every partnership having a resident partner or having any income derived from sources in this state, determined in accordance with the applicable rules as in the case of a nonresident individual, shall make a return for the taxable year setting forth all items of income, gain, loss and deduction, and the names and addresses of the individuals (whether residents or nonresidents) who would be entitled to share in the net income, if distributed, and the amount of the distributive share of each individual, and any other pertinent information the Department of Revenue may prescribe by regulations and instructions. The return shall be filed on or before the due date of the corresponding federal return for the tax year as prescribed under the Internal Revenue Code and the regulations adopted pursuant thereto. For purposes of this section, “taxable year” means a year or period which would be a taxable year of the partnership if it were subject to tax under ORS chapter 316.
(2) If a partnership transacting business in this state is required to make a return under subsection (1) of this section and fails to file the return or files a return which fails to show the information required under subsection (1) of this section, the Department of Revenue shall assess a penalty against the partnership in the amount specified in subsection (3) of this section for each month or part of a month during which the failure continues.
(3) The amount of the penalty imposed under subsection (2) of this section shall be determined by the department by rule. However, the amount of the penalty imposed for each month may not exceed the product of $50 multiplied by the number of persons who were partners in the partnership during any part of the taxable year, and the total amount of the penalty may not exceed five times the monthly penalty.
(4) The penalty imposed under this section is in addition to any other penalty provided by law. Any partnership against which a penalty is assessed under this section may appeal to the tax court as provided in ORS 305.404 (Oregon Tax Court) to 305.560 (Appeals procedure generally). If the penalty is not paid within 10 days after the order of the tax court becomes final, the department may record the order and collect the amount assessed in the same manner as income tax deficiencies are recorded and collected under ORS 314.430 (Warrant for collection of taxes).
(5) The department may waive all or any part of the penalty imposed under this section if the failure was due to reasonable cause. [Formerly 316.467; 1995 c.650 §35; 2016 c.33 §17b]
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.