2017 ORS 312.120¹
Period during which property held by county
  • redemption
  • assessment during redemption period
  • redemption of part of property

(1) Except as provided in ORS 312.122 (Reduced redemption period when property subjected to waste or abandonment), all real properties sold to the county under ORS 312.100 (Order for sale of properties to county), shall be held by the county for the period of two years from and after the date of the judgment of foreclosure, unless sooner redeemed.

(2) During the two-year period any person having an interest in the property at the date of the judgment of foreclosure, or any heir or devisee of such person, or any person holding a lien of record on the property, or any municipal corporation having a lien on the property, may redeem the property by payment of the full amount applicable to the property under the judgment, with interest thereon as provided by law, plus a penalty of five percent of the total amount applicable to the property under the judgment and a fee as specified under subsection (5) of this section. The penalty of five percent and fee shall be in lieu of all costs chargeable against the property in connection with the foreclosure proceeding. The fee shall be used to defray the costs, among other costs, incurred by the county to provide the notices of redemption period expiration to lienholders and others required under ORS 312.125 (Notice to owner or lienholder of expiration of period of redemption).

(3) Property so redeemed shall be subject to assessment for taxation during the period of redemption, as though it had continued in private ownership.

(4) Any person holding a mortgage or other lien of record covering a part only of a particular parcel of real property included in the judgment of foreclosure may redeem such part by payment of the proportionate amount applicable thereto under the judgment.

(5) The fee specified by this subsection is as follows:

(a) If the property is redeemed before the date the notice by certified mail required by ORS 312.125 (Notice to owner or lienholder of expiration of period of redemption) is given, $50.

(b) If the property is redeemed on or after the date the notice by certified mail required by ORS 312.125 (Notice to owner or lienholder of expiration of period of redemption) is given, the greater of $50 or the actual cost to the county for a title search and other expenses related to obtaining a title search. [Amended by 1983 c.472 §2; 1987 c.311 §7; 1989 c.687 §2; 1999 c.22 §1; 2003 c.576 §420]

Notes of Decisions

Where judg­ment was inadvertently rendered for less than full amount of de­lin­quen­cy, pay­ment of judg­ment amount entitled taxpayer to certificate of redemp­tion. Petersen v. Gangle, 135 Or App 514, 899 P2d 725 (1995)

Law Review Cita­tions

52 OLR 175-189 (1973)

Chapter 312

Law Review Cita­tions

5 EL 516 (1975)

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 312—Foreclosure of Property Tax Liens, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors312.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2017, Chapter 312, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano312.­html (2017) (last ac­cessed Mar. 30, 2018).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.