Application, approval and denial procedures
- • filing with assessor
- • fee
(1) The city shall approve or deny an application filed under ORS 307.667 (Application for exemption) within 180 days after receipt of the application. An application not acted upon within 180 days shall be deemed approved.
(2) Final action upon an application by the city shall be in the form of an ordinance or resolution that shall contain the owner’s name and address, a description of the structure that is the subject of the application that includes either the legal description of the property or the assessor’s property account number and the specific conditions upon which the approval of the application is based.
(3) Following approval and on or before the deadline set forth in ORS 307.512 (Filing deadline for certain housing-related exemption and special assessment programs), the city shall file with the county assessor and send to the owner at the last-known address of the owner a copy of the ordinance or resolution approving the application. The copy shall contain or be accompanied by a notice explaining the grounds for possible termination of the exemption prior to the end of the exemption period or thereafter, and the effects of termination. In addition, the city shall file with the county assessor a document listing the same information otherwise required to be in an ordinance or resolution under subsection (2) of this section, as to each application deemed approved under subsection (1) of this section.
(4) If the application is denied, the city shall state in writing the reasons for denial and send notice of denial to the applicant at the last-known address of the applicant within 10 days after the denial. The notice shall inform the applicant of the right to appeal under ORS 307.687 (Review of denial of application).
(5) The city, after consultation with the county assessor, shall establish an application fee in an amount sufficient to cover the cost to be incurred by the city and the assessor in administering ORS 307.651 (Definitions for ORS 307.651 to 307.687) to 307.687 (Review of denial of application). The application fee shall be paid to the city at the time the application for exemption is filed. If the application is approved, the city shall pay the application fee to the county assessor for deposit in the county general fund, after first deducting that portion of the fee attributable to its own administrative costs in processing the application. If the application is denied, the city shall retain that portion of the application fee attributable to its own administrative costs and shall refund the balance to the applicant. [Formerly 458.040; 2013 c.193 §10]
Note: Section 6, chapter 294, Oregon Laws 2017, provides:
Sec. 6. (1) A city may not approve an application for exemption under ORS 307.674 (Application, approval and denial procedures) on or after January 1, 2025.
(2) Notwithstanding the date specified in subsection (1) of this section, a qualified dwelling unit of single-unit housing that was granted exemption under ORS 307.651 (Definitions for ORS 307.651 to 307.687) to 307.687 (Review of denial of application) pursuant to an application approved under ORS 307.674 (Application, approval and denial procedures) before the date specified in subsection (1) of this section shall continue to receive the exemption for the period of time for which the exemption was granted. [2017 c.294 §6]
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.