ORS 264.410¹
  • qualification
  • terms

(1) Except as otherwise provided by this chapter, the power and authority given to districts is vested in and shall be exercised by a board of five commissioners, each of whom shall be an elector of the district. However, if there are fewer than 100 electors of the district, then any individual who owns and maintains real property within the district, pays taxes levied thereon by the district and is an elector registered anywhere in this state may serve as a commissioner. Except as provided by subsection (2) of this section, each commissioner shall be elected for a term of four years.

(2) Within 10 days after the formation of a district and the election of the members of the first board, the commissioners shall meet and organize, first taking and subscribing an oath of office. The commissioners first elected shall determine by lot the length of term each shall hold office. The terms of two commissioners shall expire June 30 next following the first regular district election and the terms of three commissioners shall expire June 30 next following the second regular district election.

(3) The board of commissioners shall fill any vacancy on the board as provided in ORS 198.320 (Filling of vacancies on governing bodies of certain districts). [Amended by 1955 c.213 §3; 1967 c.436 §2; 1969 c.666 §29; subsection (3) renumbered 264.415; 1971 c.727 §80; 1973 c.796 §19; 1975 c.647 §22; 1981 c.352 §1; 1983 c.6 §1; 1983 c.83 §39; 1983 c.350 §102]

Chapter 264

Law Review Cita­tions

51 OLR 53 (1971)

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 264—Domestic Water Supply Districts, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors264.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2019, Chapter 264, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ano264.­html (2019) (last ac­cessed May 16, 2020).
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information