Conditional suspension of fine for violation of boating safety requirements
In any proceeding for a violation of ORS 830.088 (Operation of motorboat by person 12 to 15 years of age), 830.090 (Operation of motorboat by person 16 years of age or older), 830.092 (Exemption from requirement to obtain boating safety certificate) or 830.094 (Boating safety certificate required to operate motorboat), the court shall conditionally suspend all or part of the fine to be imposed on the defendant if the defendant appears personally and agrees to complete, at the defendant’s own expense, a boating safety course approved by the State Marine Board under ORS 830.084 (Requirements for mandatory boating safety education program) within the time limits imposed by the court. [1999 c.716 §14; 2001 c.104 §313]
Note: 830.096 (Conditional suspension of fine for violation of boating safety requirements) was enacted into law by the Legislative Assembly but was not added to or made a part of ORS chapter 830 or any series therein by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
Note: Section 9, chapter 716, Oregon Laws 1999, provides:
Sec. 9. The State Marine Board shall phase in the mandatory boating safety education program by October 23, 2009. In developing a phase-in program, the board shall consider factors that include but are not limited to operator age, types of high-risk boats and the geographic availability and frequency of volunteer courses. The board shall phase in the program with the youngest operators and those of highest risk at the beginning of the phase-in. [1999 c.716 §9; 2001 c.104 §314]
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information