ORS 690.055¹
Facility license and temporary facility permit requirements

(1) To be issued a license to operate a facility, each applicant shall:

(a) Be 18 years of age or older, if the applicant is a natural person.

(b) Comply with the rules of the Board of Cosmetology concerning health, safety and infection control.

(c) Comply with the applicable health and safety laws and rules of the Department of Human Services and any other state agencies.

(d) Pay the required fees.

(e) If the applicant is an entity other than a natural person, be formed and operated in accordance with Oregon law.

(2) To be issued a temporary facility permit, each applicant must:

(a) Operate the facility on a temporary basis for a period not to exceed 30 consecutive calendar days and in accordance with rules of the board.

(b) Be 18 years of age or older, if the applicant is a natural person.

(c) Be under the direct supervision of a practitioner at all times the facility is open for business.

(d) Apply on forms prescribed by the Oregon Health Licensing Agency prior to opening for business.

(e) Comply with the rules of the board concerning health, safety and infection control.

(f) Comply with the applicable health and safety laws and rules of the Department of Human Services and any other state agencies.

(g) Pay the appropriate application and permit fees.

(h) If the applicant is an entity other than a natural person, be formed and operated in accordance with Oregon law.

(3) The agency may issue a single facility license to an applicant pursuant to ORS 676.617 (Single facility license).

(4) A license issued under this section shall confer on a facility owner the right to operate the facility and to advertise the services for which the facility is licensed.

(5) A facility must at all times be under the direct supervision of a practitioner. [1977 c.886 §6; 1981 c.141 §2; 1983 c.151 §7; 1993 c.267 §6; 1999 c.425 §10; 2003 c.547 §41; 2005 c.648 §54]

Atty. Gen. Opinions

Under Former Similar Statute

Qualifica­tion for facility license, (1976) Vol 37, p 1162; require­ments of license form, (1976) Vol 37, p 1162

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 690—Cosmetic Professionals, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­Archive/­2007ors690.­pdf (2007) (last ac­cessed Feb. 12, 2009).
 
2 Legislative Counsel Committee, Annotations to the Oregon Revised Stat­utes, Cumulative Supplement - 2007, Chapter 690, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­690ano.­htm (2007) (last ac­cessed Feb. 12, 2009).
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information