ORS 675.375¹
Certification of clinical sex offender therapist or associate sex offender therapist
  • requirements
  • renewal of certification

(1) To obtain certification as a clinical sex offender therapist or associate sex offender therapist, an applicant shall complete an application developed and prescribed by the Sex Offender Treatment Board and file a professional disclosure statement with the Oregon Health Licensing Agency. The documents must be accompanied by a fee established by the agency.

(2) Subject to ORS 676.612 (Disciplinary authority), the agency may issue two types of certification to qualified applicants under this section:

(a) Clinical sex offender therapist; and

(b) Associate sex offender therapist.

(3) To qualify as a certified clinical sex offender therapist, the applicant must:

(a) Be in compliance with applicable provisions and rules adopted by the agency;

(b) Have at least a master’s degree in the behavioral sciences;

(c) Have an active Oregon mental health professional license or equivalent license as determined by the agency;

(d) Within not less than three years nor more than six years prior to application, have had a minimum of 2,000 hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders, including:

(A) 1,000 hours of direct treatment services; and

(B) 500 hours of evaluations; and

(e) Have a minimum of 60 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment and evaluation, achieved within the three years prior to application.

(4) To qualify as a certified associate sex offender therapist, the applicant must:

(a) Be in compliance with applicable provisions and rules adopted by the agency;

(b) Have at least a bachelor’s degree in the behavioral sciences;

(c) Have had a minimum of 1,000 hours of direct clinical contact with sex offenders;

(d) Have a minimum of 30 hours of formal training applicable to sex offender treatment and evaluation, achieved within the three years prior to application; and

(e) Be under the direct supervision of a certified clinical sex offender therapist.

(5) The agency may renew the certification of a clinical sex offender therapist or an associate sex offender therapist annually. The application for renewal shall be considered by the agency to be an application to continue as a certified clinical sex offender therapist or a certified associate sex offender therapist. To renew a certification, the applicant must:

(a) Be in compliance with the provisions of ORS 675.360 (Legislative findings) to 675.410 (Duties of Oregon Health Licensing Agency under ORS 675.360 to 675.410) and rules adopted by the agency;

(b) Have a minimum of 100 hours of clinical experience during the preceding year, 50 of which shall be direct clinical contact with sex offenders;

(c) Have completed a minimum of 15 hours continuing education in the field of sex offender treatment during the preceding year; and

(d) Satisfy any additional requirements adopted by the board. [2007 c.841 §4]

Note: See note under 675.360 (Legislative findings).

1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 675—Psychologists; Occupational Therapists; Certified Sex Offender Therapists; Clinical Social Workers; Licensed Professional Counselors and Marriage and Family Therapists, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­Archive/­2007ors675.­pdf (2007) (last ac­cessed Feb. 12, 2009).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information