Annual fee for hydroelectric project
(1) On or before January 1 of each year, each holder shall pay to the State of Oregon an annual fee for each hydroelectric project that is subject to this section. The annual fee required by this section shall be based on the theoretical horsepower specified in the water right for each project.
(2) The amount of the annual fee required under subsection (1) of this section shall be determined in the following manner:
(a) Subject to the schedule set forth in subsection (3) of this section, each holder shall pay an amount, in 1998 dollars, equal to $0.405 per theoretical horsepower covered by the water right for the holder’s hydroelectric project. The annual fee may be set forth in the water right or may be established by order of the Water Resources Director and shall be adjusted annually for inflation according to rules established by the Water Resources Commission. The annual fee also may be adjusted through the periodic review process established in ORS 543.085 (Periodic review of annual fee).
(b) Each holder of a hydroelectric project that produces 123.5 theoretical horsepower or less shall pay an annual fee of $50 for that project.
(3) The fee determined in subsection (2) of this section shall apply to a project on the January 1 following the occurrence of an event enumerated as follows:
(a) A licensee or water right certificant shall begin to pay the annual fee after the final order for the reauthorized water right is issued under ORS 543A.130 (Contested case hearing).
(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, if a licensee holds, on October 23, 1999, an original state hydroelectric license for which the original expiration date was or is more than five years after the expiration date of the original Federal Energy Regulatory Commission license for the project, the licensee shall begin payment of the annual fee established under this section after the expiration date of the original state hydroelectric license.
(c) A power claimant, or uncertificated claimant, licensed by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission shall begin to pay the annual fee after the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission issues a new license. A power claimant or uncertificated claimant that received a new license from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission within 10 years prior to October 23, 1999, shall begin to pay the annual fee on January 1, 2000.
(d) A power claimant, or uncertificated claimant, whose project is exempted from licensure by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or not licensed by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission shall begin paying the annual fee under this section on January 1, 2008, for that project.
(4) No fee shall be assessed under ORS 543.710 (Annual fee based on horsepower) for a project subject to an annual fee under this section. [1999 c.873 §5]
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information