Parent allowed to anonymously leave child at authorized facility
- • facility immunity
- • notification to department
(1) A parent may leave an infant at an authorized facility in the physical custody of an agent, employee, physician or other medical professional working at the authorized facility if the infant:
(a) Is 30 days of age or younger as determined to a reasonable degree of medical certainty; and
(b) Has no evidence of abuse.
(2) A parent leaving an infant under this section is not required to provide any identifying information about the infant or the parent.
(3) An agent, employee, physician or other medical professional working at an authorized facility shall receive an infant brought to the authorized facility under this section.
(4) If acting in good faith in receiving an infant, an authorized facility receiving an infant under this section and any agent, employee, physician or other medical professional working at the authorized facility are immune from any criminal or civil liability that otherwise might result from their actions relating to receiving the infant. A city, county or other political subdivision of this state that operates a sheriff’s office, police station or fire station that receives an infant under this section is immune from any criminal or civil liability that otherwise might result from the actions taken by its employees or agents in receiving the infant.
(5) When an infant has been left at an authorized facility as provided in this section:
(a) The authorized facility shall notify the Department of Human Services that an infant has been left at the facility as provided in subsection (1) of this section no later than 24 hours after receiving the infant.
(b) The infant is deemed abandoned for purposes of ORS 419B.100 (Jurisdiction), and the department is deemed to have protective custody of the infant under ORS 419B.150 (When protective custody authorized) from the moment the infant was left at the facility. The department shall comply with the applicable provisions of ORS chapter 419B with regard to the infant.
(6) The authorized facility shall release the infant to the department when release is appropriate considering the infant’s medical condition and shall provide the department with all information the facility has regarding the infant.
(7) As used in this section:
(a) "Abuse" has the meaning given that term in ORS 419B.005 (Definitions).
(b) "Authorized facility" means a hospital as described in ORS 442.015 (Definitions), freestanding birthing center as defined in ORS 442.015 (Definitions), physician’s office, sheriff’s office, police station or fire station.
(c) "Physician" means a person licensed by the Oregon Medical Board to practice medicine and surgery. [2001 c.597 §1; 2005 c.22 §288]
Note: 418.017 (Parent allowed to anonymously leave child at authorized facility) and 418.018 (Department required to inform public about ORS 418.017 and affirmative defense) were enacted into law by the Legislative Assembly but were not added to or made a part of ORS chapter 418 or any series therein by legislative action. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent. Currency Information