(1) When the Department of State Police is asked to provide criminal offender information under ORS 181A.190 (Criminal records check) or 181A.230 (Establishment of procedures for access to criminal record information) (2), the department shall waive any fee otherwise charged by the department for providing the information if:
(a) The request is made by an organization; and
(b) The individual about whom the criminal offender information is sought is a volunteer, or prospective volunteer, of the organization.
(2) In addition to waiving any fee otherwise charged by the department, the department may not charge the individual or organization the fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for conducting nationwide criminal records checks.
(3) As used in this section:
(a) “Dependent person” means a person who, because of physical or mental disability, or medical disability due to alcohol or drug dependence, needs mentoring or tutoring programs.
(b) “Elderly person” means a person 65 years of age or older.
(c) “Mentoring program” means a program that provides a committed, sustained, one-to-one relationship between a volunteer and a youth, dependent person or elderly person that allows the youth, dependent person or elderly person to achieve that person’s greatest potential. A sustained relationship typically lasts nine months or longer.
(d) “Organization” means a qualified entity that:
(A) Is exempt from taxation under section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, as amended and in effect on January 1, 2002; and
(B) Provides mentoring programs or tutoring programs.
(e) “Qualified entity” has the meaning given that term in ORS 181A.190 (Criminal records check).
(f) “Tutoring program” means a program that provides a committed, sustained, one-to-one relationship between a volunteer and a youth, dependent person or elderly person based upon a specified activity that increases specific skills of the youth, dependent person or elderly person. A sustained relationship typically lasts nine months or longer.
(g) “Youth” means a person who has not attained 18 years of age. [Formerly 181.556]
Note: 181A.235 (Fee waiver) was added to and made a part of 181A.010 (Definitions for ORS 181A.010 to 181A.350) to 181A.350 (Eligibility of towing business to be placed on department list) by legislative action but was not added to any smaller series therein. See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for further explanation.
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.