2015 ORS 163A.025¹
Reporting by sex offender adjudicated in juvenile court

Caution-flag-2-25x25
This section is amended
Effective April 4, 2016
Relating to juveniles; creating new provisions; amending ORS 163A.010, 163A.025, 163A.030, 163A.040, 163A.130, 163A.135 and 419A.255; and declaring an emergency.

(1) Unless the juvenile court enters an order under ORS 163A.130 (Relief from reporting obligation for juvenile offenders adjudicated in Oregon) or 163A.135 (Relief from reporting obligation for juvenile offenders adjudicated in another United States jurisdiction) relieving a person of the obligation to report as a sex offender, subsections (2) to (4) of this section apply to a person:

(a) Who has been ordered under ORS 163A.030 (Hearing on issue of reporting by sex offender adjudicated in juvenile court) to report as a sex offender; or

(b) Who has been found in a juvenile adjudication in another United States court to have committed an act while the person was under 18 years of age that would constitute a felony sex crime if committed in this state by an adult.

(2) A person described in subsection (1) of this section who resides in this state shall make an initial report, in person, to the Department of State Police, a city police department or a county sheriff’s office as follows:

(a) The person shall report no later than 10 days after the date of the termination of juvenile court jurisdiction over the person or, if the person is placed under the jurisdiction of the Psychiatric Security Review Board, no later than 10 days after the date the person is discharged from the jurisdiction of the board; or

(b) If the person is adjudicated for the act giving rise to the obligation to report in another United States court and the person is found to have committed an act that if committed by an adult in this state would constitute:

(A) A Class A or Class B felony sex crime:

(i) If the person is not a resident of this state at the time of the adjudication, the person shall make the initial report to the Department of State Police in Marion County, Oregon, no later than 10 days after the date the person moves into this state; or

(ii) If the person is a resident of this state at the time of the adjudication, the person shall make the initial report to the Department of State Police in Marion County, Oregon, no later than 10 days after the date the person is discharged, released or placed on probation or any other form of supervised or conditional release by the other United States court or, if the person is confined in a correctional facility by the other United States court, no later than 10 days after the date the person is discharged or otherwise released from the facility.

(B) A Class C felony sex crime:

(i) If the person is not a resident of this state at the time of the adjudication, the person shall make the initial report to the Department of State Police in Marion County, Oregon, no later than six months after the date the person moves into this state; or

(ii) If the person is a resident of this state at the time of the adjudication, the person shall make the initial report to the Department of State Police in Marion County, Oregon, no later than 10 days after the date the person is discharged, released or placed on probation or any other form of supervised or conditional release by the other United States court or, if the person is confined in a correctional facility by the other United States court, no later than 10 days after the date the person is discharged or otherwise released from the facility.

(3) After making the initial report described in subsection (2) of this section, the person shall report, in person, to the Department of State Police, a city police department or a county sheriff’s office, in the county of the person’s last reported residence:

(a) Within 10 days of a change of residence;

(b) Once each year within 10 days of the person’s birth date, regardless of whether the person changed residence;

(c) Within 10 days of the first day the person works at, carries on a vocation at or attends an institution of higher education; and

(d) Within 10 days of a change in work, vocation or attendance status at an institution of higher education.

(4) When a person described in subsection (1) of this section attends school or works in this state, resides in another state and is not otherwise required to report as a sex offender under this section or ORS 163A.010 (Reporting by sex offender discharged, paroled or released from correctional facility or another United States jurisdiction), 163A.015 (Reporting by sex offender discharged, released or placed on probation by court or another United States jurisdiction) or 163A.020 (Reporting by sex offender upon moving into state), the person shall report, in person, to the Department of State Police, a city police department or a county sheriff’s office, in the county in which the person attends school or works, no later than 10 days after:

(a) The first day of school attendance or the 14th day of employment in this state; and

(b) A change in school enrollment or employment.

(5) The agency to which a person reports under this section shall complete a sex offender registration form concerning the person when the person reports under this section.

(6) As part of the registration and reporting requirements of this section:

(a) The person required to report shall:

(A) Provide the information necessary to complete the sex offender registration form and sign the form as required; and

(B) Submit to the requirements described in paragraph (b) of this subsection.

(b) The Department of State Police, Oregon Youth Authority, county juvenile department, city police department or county sheriff’s office:

(A) Shall photograph the person when the person initially reports under this section and each time the person reports annually under this section;

(B) May photograph the person or any identifying scars, marks or tattoos located on the person when the person reports under any of the circumstances described in this section; and

(C) Shall fingerprint the person if the person’s fingerprints are not included in the record file of the Department of State Police.

(7) The obligation to report under this section is terminated if the adjudication that gave rise to the obligation is reversed or vacated.

(8) Notwithstanding subsections (2) and (3) of this section:

(a) The Oregon Youth Authority may register a youth offender committed to its custody and supervision by order of the juvenile court or a person placed in its physical custody under ORS 137.124 (Commitment of defendant to Department of Corrections or county) or any other provision of law.

(b) A county juvenile department may register a youth offender or young person, as those terms are defined in ORS 419A.004 (Definitions). [Formerly 181.809]


1 Legislative Counsel Committee, CHAPTER 163A—Sex Offender Reporting and Classification, https://­www.­oregonlegislature.­gov/­bills_laws/­ors/­ors163A.­html (2015) (last ac­cessed Jul. 16, 2016).
 
2 OregonLaws.org contains the con­tents of Volume 21 of the ORS, inserted along­side the per­tin­ent statutes. See the preface to the ORS An­no­ta­tions for more information.
 
3 OregonLaws.org assembles these lists by analyzing references between Sections. Each listed item refers back to the current Section in its own text. The result reveals relationships in the code that may not have otherwise been apparent.