2011 ORS § 348.606¹
Conferring or offering of degree before approval obtained prohibited
  • fees
  • rules

(1) A school may not confer or offer to confer any academic degree upon a person, or provide services purporting to lead to a degree in whole or in part, without first obtaining approval from the Higher Education Coordinating Commission. The commission shall adopt by rule standards and procedures for the approval of schools.

(2)(a) The commission, by rule, may impose a fee on any school applying for approval to confer or offer to confer a degree upon a person or to provide academic credit applicable to a degree. The fee is nonrefundable.

(b) The amount of the fee shall be established to recover designated expenses incurred by the commission in carrying out the administration of ORS 348.594 (Definitions for ORS 348.594 to 348.615) to 348.615 (Appeal procedure), and may not exceed the following amounts adjusted for inflation annually, beginning on July 1, 2007, pursuant to the increase, if any, from the preceding year in the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (All Items) as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor:

(A) For a doctoral degree, $5,500.

(B) For a masters degree, $4,150.

(C) For a bachelors degree, $4,150.

(D) For an associate degree, $2,750.

(E) For a certificate or for any partial degree program, $1,000.

(c) In addition to the base fee described in paragraph (b) of this subsection, the commission may assess the actual costs related to the use of experts to evaluate programs leading to professional licensure by the state, if such costs exceed 10 percent of the base fee.

(d) Any fees collected under this subsection shall be deposited in the Degree Authorization Account established under ORS 348.601 (Degree Authorization Account). [1997 c.652 §11; 1999 c.59 §95; 2003 c.674 §2; 2005 c.546 §9; 2007 c.325 §3; 2011 c.637 §183]

Note: The amendments to 348.606 (Conferring or offering of degree before approval obtained prohibited) by section 183, chapter 637, Oregon Laws 2011, become operative July 1, 2012. See section 292, chapter 637, Oregon Laws 2011. The text that is operative until July 1, 2012, is set forth for the users convenience.

348.606 (Conferring or offering of degree before approval obtained prohibited). (1) A school may not confer or offer to confer any academic degree upon a person, or provide services purporting to lead to a degree in whole or in part, without first obtaining approval from the Oregon Student Access Commission through the Office of Degree Authorization. The commission shall adopt by rule standards and procedures for the approval of schools.

(2)(a) The commission, by rule, may impose a fee on any school applying for approval to confer or offer to confer a degree upon a person or to provide academic credit applicable to a degree. The fee is nonrefundable.

(b) The amount of the fee shall be established to recover designated expenses incurred by the commission in carrying out the administration of ORS 348.594 (Definitions for ORS 348.594 to 348.615) to 348.615 (Appeal procedure), and may not exceed the following amounts adjusted for inflation annually, beginning on July 1, 2007, pursuant to the increase, if any, from the preceding year in the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (All Items) as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the United States Department of Labor:

(A) For a doctoral degree, $5,500.

(B) For a masters degree, $4,150.

(C) For a bachelors degree, $4,150.

(D) For an associate degree, $2,750.

(E) For a certificate or for any partial degree program, $1,000.

(c) In addition to the base fee described in paragraph (b) of this subsection, the commission may assess the actual costs related to the use of experts to evaluate programs leading to professional licensure by the state, if such costs exceed 10 percent of the base fee.

(d) Any fees collected under this subsection shall be deposited in the Office of Degree Authorization Account established under ORS 348.601 (Degree Authorization Account).