2013 ORS § 346.130¹
Commission members
  • confirmation
  • meetings
  • compensation and expenses

(1) The Commission for the Blind shall be appointed by the Governor and shall consist of seven members:

(a) Four members who are qualified persons within the legal definition of persons who are blind; and

(b) Three members appointed from among the areas of employers, labor, optometry, ophthalmology, and education of persons who are blind. However, no more than one appointee shall represent the same area during the same term. To the greatest extent possible, appointments from the five areas shall be made on a rotating basis.

(2) The term of office of a member of the commission is two years. Vacancy in the office of a member shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired term. Any member who is absent from three consecutive commission meetings or more than one-third of the scheduled meetings in one year shall be removed from office and the Governor shall fill the vacancy for the unexpired term. A person may not serve on the commission for more than three consecutive terms of one year or more in length.

(3) All appointments of members of the commission by the Governor are subject to confirmation by the Senate in the manner provided in ORS 171.562 (Procedures for confirmation) and 171.565 (Vote required for confirmation).

(4) The commission shall hold meetings at least once every two months and such additional meetings as it may deem necessary.

(5) Each member is entitled to compensation and expenses as provided in ORS 292.495 (Compensation and expenses of members of state boards and commissions). [Amended by 1957 c.294 §1; 1965 c.100 §451; 1965 c.522 §1; 1969 c.314 §23; 1973 c.792 §10; 1975 c.638 §2; 1977 c.731 §1; 1979 c.411 §1; 2007 c.70 §119]