2013 ORS § 166.470¹
Limitations and conditions for sales of firearms

(1) Unless relief has been granted under ORS 166.274 (Relief from prohibition against possessing or purchasing firearm) or section 5, chapter 826, Oregon Laws 2009, or 18 U.S.C. 925(c) or the expunction laws of this state or an equivalent law of another jurisdiction, a person may not intentionally sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any firearm when the transferor knows or reasonably should know that the recipient:

(a) Is under 18 years of age;

(b) Has been convicted of a felony;

(c) Has any outstanding felony warrants for arrest;

(d) Is free on any form of pretrial release for a felony;

(e) Was committed to the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 426.130 (Court determination of mental illness);

(f) After January 1, 1990, was found to be a person with mental illness and subject to an order under ORS 426.130 (Court determination of mental illness) that the person be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental illness;

(g) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving violence or found guilty except for insanity under ORS 161.295 (Effect of mental disease or defect) of a misdemeanor involving violence within the previous four years. As used in this paragraph, misdemeanor involving violence means a misdemeanor described in ORS 163.160 (Assault in the fourth degree), 163.187 (Strangulation), 163.190 (Menacing), 163.195 (Recklessly endangering another person) or 166.155 (Intimidation in the second degree) (1)(b); or

(h) Has been found guilty except for insanity under ORS 161.295 (Effect of mental disease or defect) of a felony.

(2) A person may not sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any firearm that the person knows or reasonably should know is stolen.

(3) Subsection (1)(a) of this section does not prohibit:

(a) The parent or guardian, or another person with the consent of the parent or guardian, of a minor from transferring to the minor a firearm, other than a handgun; or

(b) The temporary transfer of any firearm to a minor for hunting, target practice or any other lawful purpose.

(4) Violation of this section is a Class A misdemeanor. [Amended by 1989 c.839 §3; 1991 c.67 §40; 1993 c.735 §11; 2001 c.828 §2; 2003 c.577 §7; 2009 c.499 §6; 2009 c.595 §115; 2009 c.826 §8; 2013 c.360 §10]

Note: The amendments to 166.470 (Limitations and conditions for sales of firearms) by section 11, chapter 826, Oregon Laws 2009, become operative January 2, 2016. See section 14, chapter 826, Oregon Laws 2009, as amended by section 23, chapter 826, Oregon Laws 2009, and section 2, chapter 448, Oregon Laws 2011. The text that is operative on and after January 2, 2016, including amendments by section 11, chapter 360, Oregon Laws 2013, is set forth for the users convenience.

166.470 (Limitations and conditions for sales of firearms). (1) Unless relief has been granted under ORS 166.274 (Relief from prohibition against possessing or purchasing firearm) or 18 U.S.C. 925(c) or the expunction laws of this state or an equivalent law of another jurisdiction, a person may not intentionally sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any firearm when the transferor knows or reasonably should know that the recipient:

(a) Is under 18 years of age;

(b) Has been convicted of a felony;

(c) Has any outstanding felony warrants for arrest;

(d) Is free on any form of pretrial release for a felony;

(e) Was committed to the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 426.130 (Court determination of mental illness);

(f) After January 1, 1990, was found to be a person with mental illness and subject to an order under ORS 426.130 (Court determination of mental illness) that the person be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental illness;

(g) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving violence or found guilty except for insanity under ORS 161.295 (Effect of mental disease or defect) of a misdemeanor involving violence within the previous four years. As used in this paragraph, misdemeanor involving violence means a misdemeanor described in ORS 163.160 (Assault in the fourth degree), 163.187 (Strangulation), 163.190 (Menacing), 163.195 (Recklessly endangering another person) or 166.155 (Intimidation in the second degree) (1)(b); or

(h) Has been found guilty except for insanity under ORS 161.295 (Effect of mental disease or defect) of a felony.

(2) A person may not sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any firearm that the person knows or reasonably should know is stolen.

(3) Subsection (1)(a) of this section does not prohibit:

(a) The parent or guardian, or another person with the consent of the parent or guardian, of a minor from transferring to the minor a firearm, other than a handgun; or

(b) The temporary transfer of any firearm to a minor for hunting, target practice or any other lawful purpose.

(4) Violation of this section is a Class A misdemeanor.